Parvez Guzdar Award


Applications are invited for Parvez Guzdar Award from Young Indian Scientists below the age of 35 years, who have made significant research contributions in the field of plasma physics and controlled nuclear fusion research.


The Institute for Plasma Research operates this Award from a corpus fund contributed by family and friends of Dr. Parvez Guzdar, whose research contributions spanned a broad spectrum of topics in plasma physics ranging from fundamental studies of plasma instabilities to novel applications and interpretation of experimental phenomena in magnetic fusion devices, laser fusion, space and astrophysical plasmas and various nonlinear systems.


The selected scientist will be awarded cash prize of Rs.50,000/- and citation during the Plasma Science Society of India (PSSI) symposium.


A brief description of Dr. Guzdar's work can be seen here;



Dr. Parvez Guzdar






Area of research


Manish Chaudhari

MPE, Garching, Germany

Physics of Complex plasmas


Prateek Sharma

IISc, Bangalore

Physics of Astrophysical Plasmas


Amit Lad

TIFR, Mumbai

Physics of intense laser-matter interactions


Ashwin Joy

IIT madras

Physics of Strongly Coupled Plasmas


Subir Biswas

SINP Kolkata

Basic experimental Plasma physics

Sanat Tiwari

University of Iowa

Nonlinear phenomena in strongly coupled plasmas


Girish Gupta


Solar & Astrophysical Plasmas


Kshitish Kumar Barada


experimental studies of helicon plasmas, advanced plasma diagnostics and edge turbulence in tokamaks


Dr. Remya Bhanu

IIGM, Mumbai

waves and instabilities in space plasma systems, including planetary and cometary environments


Dr. Riddhi Bandyopadhyay

Princeton University

Magnetohydrodynamic turbulence and its

manifestations in astrophysical plasmas

Dr. Soumen Ghosh

University of California, San Diego

Experimental studies of basic plasma phenomena including helicon wave generation and positron beam physics


Dr. Gopal Hazra

Leiden University, Netherlands,

Solar dynamo and dynamical plasma phenomena in the sun, stars and interstellar medium


Dr. P. K. Kayshap

Vellore Institute of Technology,


UV & EUV Spectroscopy and investigation of various plasma instabilities and associated phenomena in the solar atmosphere

© PSSI 2008

Home Home Page | Acheivements | About PSSI | Executive Committee |  Past Committes | Members |  Categories |  How to become a member ? |  Member details | Awards |  Buti Young Scientist Award |  Sholapurwala Awards |  PSSI Awards |  Parvez Guzdar Award |  Sholapurwala RF Award |  J.S. Sodha Plasma Award | Scholarship | Contact | Conferences & Meetings |  Recent Meetings | Newsletter | Accounts |  Audited Accounts | General Body Meeting |  Past GBMs | Obituaries | PLASMA Conf. PLASMA Conference |  About Plasma-2018 |  PSC-2018 |  Past Plasma Conferences |  Abstract Books | PSC Series PSC Series | Past PSC |