Z. H. Sholapurwala Award For Outstanding Contributions In RF And Microwave Applications


The award:


The "Z. H. Sholapurwala Award for the contributions in RF and Microwave Applications" has been instituted by Dr. Z. H. Sholapurwala of M/s Zeonics Systech Defence & Aerospace Engineers Pvt. Ltd., Bangalore to recognize innovative and state-of-the-art R&D in the fields of Radio Frequency, Microwaves and allied technologies in India.  The details of the award are as follows;


1.Frequency of the award : Biennial

2.Number of awards : ONE

3.Cash award : Rs.10,000 & Citation

4.Travel assistance (Low cost economy class airfare) from place of awardee to the place of award ceremony and back (if required)

5.Local accommodation (will be provided by the LOC of the Symposium)


Who are eligible to apply: Individuals or R&D groups (Only within INDIA) from Colleges, Universities and R&D establishments involved in state-of-the-art R&D in the fields of Radio Frequency (RF), Microwaves and allied technologies (listed below). The award can be presented to an individual or to a research group depending on the Committee's decision. The award will not be shared.


1.        RF/Microwave Source Development

2.        RF/Microwave Transmission, Reception and Antenna

3.        RF/Microwave Power Coupling

4.        RF/Microwave Sensor Detectors and Diagnostics

5.        RF/Microwave Applications

6.        RF/Microwave Modelling and Simulation

7.        Electromagnetic Isolation (EMI) / Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC)

8.        Insulation and Dielectrics for RF and Microwave

9.        Impulse Technology (Also includes high voltage technology)


Age limit: For individuals, the maximum age limit would be 40 years (as on 1 January of the year of award). For R&D group, there is no age limit. The Group however, needs to nominate a person to receive the award and also give the scientific presentation during the award ceremony.  The individual has to be an Indian citizen, working in India.


Selection process: Nominations received by PSSI from potential candidates will be scrutinized by a committee consisting of members from PSSI executive council as well as external experts in the areas of RF and microwave engineering. If the Committee fails to find an appropriate candidate for the award for a particular year, the unused award money will be added to the award corpus and the award amount will be modified in due course.  The following points will be considered while evaluating the nominations ie.,


(1) Significance of area of work

(2) Peer reviewed publications in the last 2 years related to the area specified by the nominee

(3) Patents applied / received related to the developed technology

(4) If any prototype based on the work has been developed

(5) Demonstration of societal applications of the developed technology


The decision of the selection committee will be final and binding.


Award Ceremony: This award will be presented during the National Symposium on Plasma Science & Technology organized by PSSI. The winner of the award will be required to make a 25 minute presentation regarding his/her work for which the award was presented. In the case of a R&D group winning the award, an individual will have to be nominated by the group and inform PSSI of the same. This nominee will receive the award on behalf of the group and deliver the talk.


Award Details (PDF)

Proforma for Nomination (.DOC format)





Area of research


Dr. Ranajit Dey

SAC-ISRO, Ahmedabad

Antenna Systems for communication and remote sensing payloads


Mr. Piyush Sinha

SAC-ISRO, Ahmedabad

Design and Development of Microwave Resonator Accelerometer


Mr. Vishant Gahlaut

Banasthali Vidyapith, Rajasthan

Design & Development of Ku-band 140W TWTs and Ku-band short length for space applications

This award is supported by

Zeonics Systech Defence & Aerospace Engineers Pvt. Ltd.

  "ADAR" #3, 10th Main, 7th Cross, Maruthinagar,

  New Thippasandra P.O., Bangalore - 560075.

    Web Site :  www.zeonics.org

© PSSI 2008

Home Home Page | Acheivements | About PSSI | Executive Committee |  Past Committes | Members |  Categories |  How to become a member ? |  Member details | Awards |  Buti Young Scientist Award |  Sholapurwala Awards |  PSSI Awards |  Parvez Guzdar Award |  Sholapurwala RF Award |  J.S. Sodha Plasma Award | Scholarship | Lectures | Contact | Conferences & Meetings |  Recent Meetings | Newsletter | Accounts |  Audited Accounts | General Body Meeting |  Past GBMs | Obituaries | PLASMA Conf. PLASMA Conference |  About Plasma-2018 |  PSC-2018 |  Past Plasma Conferences |  Abstract Books | PSC Series PSC Series | Past PSC |