Congratulations !!


Professor Subroto Mukherjee of the Institute for Plasma Research has been elected  Fellow of  Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), in the year 2018.


He has been elected a Fellow of the Gujarat Science Academy in 2016.


He also received the VASVIK Award in 2016 for his contribution under the section “Material and Metallurgical Sciences & Technology”.


Congratulations !!


Professor Amita Das of the Institute for Plasma Research has been elected  Fellow of  Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore in the year 2011 under the section "Physics". Her interests include Plasma Physics, Turbulence and Electron Magnetohydrodynamics.


She has been elected a fellow of the Gujarat Science Academy in 2011.


She has been awarded with fellowship of prestigious Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi (2018)


She has been awarded with the prestigious J. C. Bose National Fellowship (2018)

Congratulations !!


Profesor Avinash Khare, Homi Bhabha Fellow, Department of Physics and Astrophysics, University of Delhi was awarded the INSA B. Roy memorial lecture award for outstanding contribution to physics. This award is given by Indian National Science Academy and carries a scroll and a cash prize of Rs 25000.

Professor Khare also has been elected fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), New Delhi in the year 2011.


He is currently the Vice Chancellor of the Central University of Sikkim, Gangtok

Congratulations !!

Association of Asia-Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS), Division of plasma physics (AAPPS-DPP)  has awarded Prof. Predhiman K. Kaw of the Institute of Plasma Research, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, the 2015 Laureate of S. Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics, for his seminal / pioneering contribution in the field of plasma physics.


Professor P. K. Kaw

Press Note




Ms. Bharathi Magesh of Institute For Plasma Research was awarded the Best Poster award for her presentation "Unfolding the signatures of the fast Hydrogen and Nitrogen atoms  near cathode in an abnormal glow discharge" at the ICTP-IOP-Emerging Nations Science Foundation (ENSF) at ICTP,Trieste,Italy. Her co-authors were Suraj Sinha (Pondicherry University) and S. Mukherji (FCIPT, Gandhinagar). 

Prof. Chanchal Uberoi, a senior Life Member of PSSI, has recently brought out her creative musical efforts - an album `Ragas Across Space', visualising the space sounds in our Solar system with different Ragas in Indian Classical Music. PSSI members may listen/buy this creative musical  effort of a fellow plasma physicist.